STOPPING BY PRIMARNI

Standard

Sometimes I’m stuck. In fact, very frequently I’m stuck. ……I’m a bit stuck now so I thought I’d list the reasons:

I’m wearing my glasses rather than my contact lenses and the bridge of my nose is beginning to hurt.

It doesn’t feel good to be wearing an old dressing gown at 1.40pm, someone might come to the door, and then what?

I’m supposed to be designing an invitation to a jubilee breakfast at this very moment, not being in poet mode.

The attic room where I write is in a mess and it’s bugging me. I want to go out now and buy more shelves, not sit here in the chaos.

But really….

I’m afraid. Just recently I read an article about Andrew Motion and there were words to the effect that he had to get used to his work sometimes being described as a bag of shite. I’m not sure I’m ever going to get used to that – and I’m no Andrew Motion either!

This is a poem I wrote to get out of being stuck. I read some Robert Frost and copied his style. That’s always worth a try.

STOPPING BY PRIMARNI

This store is lovely, cheap and bright,

With slinky tops so neat and tight,

And skirts with frills and skinny jeans,

And glittering belts that catch the light.

*

My mate and I are full of beans,

In sequined frocks we look like queens.

The mirror tells a different tale:

We’re bulging through unravelling seams.

*

We both let out a tearful wail,

And head towards the goods on sale.

Our hopes are dashed – it’s all such grot,

Our ‘on trend’ dreams are set to fail.

*

But dreams revive, we won’t head Gok,

We’ll rummage on until we flop.

We’ve hours to shop before we drop.

We’ve hours to shop before we drop.

 

Thankyou to Robert Frost for Stopping by Woods

About rhymebydesign

Mother, grandmother, mainstream poet and short story writer. Started off in life as a teacher, but then moved out of the classroom in to educational administration. Curious about what makes people tick, including my own tickings! I enjoy long walks, thought provoking books, theatre and leading a simple life. I offer a customised poetry writing service for any occasion you might like to mark. Contact me at rhymebydesign@hotmail.com for a quick quote.

Leave a Reply

