WHAT KIND OF A POET AM I?

Standard

Just now, between 26th June and 1st July the Poetry Parnassus is taking place in London. It’s the largest ever global gathering of poets from 204 Olympic nations so really worth a visit. It’s curated by Simon Armitage. He’s still looking for an entrant from Monaco, so if you are a poet from there, get on to Simon quick.

I caught a few snatches about the Parnassus on Radio 4 during which some of the participating poets were asked, ‘What kind of poet are you?’ I found their answers terrifyingly erudite, and that set me wondering what I would say if asked the question. I would say this –

WHAT KIND OF A POET AM I?

What kind of a poet am I?

Well, I’m really quite gifted, but shy.

I like rhyming verse

that’s quite tight and quite terse,

and raises such questions as why

the stars still twinkle in heaven

and wars still rage on this earth,

why the cat’s been sick on the carpet,

and what’s lit up my life from my birth.

That was another of my 5 minute exercises, with which I’m becoming increasingly obsessed! I have a secret fear that I might be called upon by some very important person to write a verse at very short notice through my rhymebydesign service. It hasn’t happened yet, but it might. Who knows?

About rhymebydesign

Mother, grandmother, mainstream poet and short story writer. Started off in life as a teacher, but then moved out of the classroom in to educational administration. Curious about what makes people tick, including my own tickings! I enjoy long walks, thought provoking books, theatre and leading a simple life. I offer a customised poetry writing service for any occasion you might like to mark. Contact me at rhymebydesign@hotmail.com for a quick quote.

Leave a Reply

