CRIMSON DREAMS

Standard

I’ve been in Birmingham today, the place where I was born…quite a long time ago!

Where Primark now stands in vulgar glory  there used to be a posh department store called Marshall and Snelgrove. I was handy with the sewing machine and I remember buying some corduroy material which was richly patterened with crimson paisley swirls. I set about making a zip up jacket which I still have to this day. It brought me some good luck,  I met one of my better behaved boyfriends whilst wearing it. My luck ran rather thin after that -but that’s another story!
CRIMSON DREAMS

I loved that paisley jacket

With its crimson  twirls and swirls,

I’d made it to my own design –

Stood out from other girls!

*

I wore  it to a party

-It was many years ago-

And I met a handsome fellow

Who set my heart aglow.

*

We danced away the evening,

And  we  frolicked through the years,

Until the crimson twirls and swirls

Just vanished  in to tears.

Oh dear!

About rhymebydesign

Mother, grandmother, mainstream poet and short story writer. Started off in life as a teacher, but then moved out of the classroom in to educational administration. Curious about what makes people tick, including my own tickings! I enjoy long walks, thought provoking books, theatre and leading a simple life. I offer a customised poetry writing service for any occasion you might like to mark. Contact me at rhymebydesign@hotmail.com for a quick quote.

One response »

  1. I have just discovered your writing and poetry. It is a breath of fresh air. I belong to a reading group in Tasmania -I’m very pleased one of our members introduced your work. I look forward to more
    Rose

Leave a Reply

