THIS IS JUST TO SAY…

Standard

I am a subscriber to Writing Magazine, which contains lots of tips for poets as well as a number of poetry writing competitions. September’s competition is to WRITE A SONNET. I shan’t be entering this one as I’m not sure I could follow the strict verse form as well as punch in some meaning – but you out there might like to. The closing date is 15th October and  the first prize is £100, the second £50. Details are on Page 22 of the magazine.

So, I might not have risen to the challenge of a sonnet, but I did follow some other advice given by Alison Chisholm in the mag.  Briefly, find a poem that you like, think about what appeals about the subject matter, style  and vocabulary  then write one of your own.

I used this one by William Carlos Williams.

THIS IS JUST TO SAY

I have eaten

the plums

that were in

the icebox

*

and which

you were probably

saving

for breakfast

*

Forgive me

they were delicious

so sweet

and so cold.

Inspired by the simplicity, I wrote this:

AFTER TASTE

I have cooked

the red currants.

Drowned them in port

masked out

their bitterness.

Forgive me

if the after taste

remains.

It’s true. Short poems in an apparently simple style are difficult to write! Why not try one?

About rhymebydesign

Mother, grandmother, mainstream poet and short story writer. Started off in life as a teacher, but then moved out of the classroom in to educational administration. Curious about what makes people tick, including my own tickings! I enjoy long walks, thought provoking books, theatre and leading a simple life. I offer a customised poetry writing service for any occasion you might like to mark. Contact me at rhymebydesign@hotmail.com for a quick quote.

Leave a Reply

