I WAIT AND WAIT

Standard

I’ve  been doing some poetry work at the Hospice again today and soon there will be enough contributions to make a booklet of the patients’ work. The theme is along the lines of I AM…. I might add a  short poem of my own; I made this one up  while I was looking out on the beautiful garden they have there.

I WAIT AND WAIT

I’m like the clouds in an autumn sky –

I drift along in the breeze

waiting again for the sun to shine

or to grasp at some golden keys

to a place where I feel quite calm and still

and my tattered old soul is at peace

and it knows for sure that the future holds

just rest and hope and release…

So, here’s hoping.

About rhymebydesign

Mother, grandmother, mainstream poet and short story writer. Started off in life as a teacher, but then moved out of the classroom in to educational administration. Curious about what makes people tick, including my own tickings! I enjoy long walks, thought provoking books, theatre and leading a simple life. I offer a customised poetry writing service for any occasion you might like to mark. Contact me at rhymebydesign@hotmail.com for a quick quote.

Leave a Reply

