SECRET PLEASURES

Standard

 

I’m concerned about the plight of the elderly, especially when people are stuck in residential homes. I have never been in a pleasant one, ever. If only the residents could speak up for themselves, but often they can’t. And they cost a fortune!

SECRET PLEASURES

 

I keep this trolley by my chair,

It comforts me to know it’s there.

There’s a tatty bible and a pair of specs.

A Simone de Beauvoir, The Second Sex.

But best of all there’s my ginger wine,

Stowed in a teapot –  well a secret’s fine!

 

 

When you’re stuck in a Care Home,

And you’re troubled with gout,

It’s one of life’s pleasures

To drink from a spout.

 

About rhymebydesign

Mother, grandmother, mainstream poet and short story writer. Started off in life as a teacher, but then moved out of the classroom in to educational administration. Curious about what makes people tick, including my own tickings! I enjoy long walks, thought provoking books, theatre and leading a simple life. I offer a customised poetry writing service for any occasion you might like to mark. Contact me at rhymebydesign@hotmail.com for a quick quote.

One response »

Leave a Reply

