AND WHO IS LIZ?

Standard

Today is my sister’s birthday. She hates birds, but I knew she’d laugh at the card I sent her, part of which showed a parrot perching on the birthday girl’s knee.

Image

AND ON MY BIRTHDAY….

I’ve opened a bottle,

A quite lively fizz,

And I’ll share with my parrot,

The wonderful Liz.

 

I confess in my youth

I was startled by birds,

Their beaks and their feathers,

And their splattering turds..

 

But now that I’m older,

It’s really a breeze,

To let lovely Lizzie

Sink claws in my knees

 

She knows it’s my birthday,

I’ve taught her the tune,

She’s about to start singing

In this candle lit room.

 

She’s squawking so loudly,

Happy Birthday, she caws,

Whilst she flutters her feathers

In a birdy applause.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About rhymebydesign

Mother, grandmother, mainstream poet and short story writer. Started off in life as a teacher, but then moved out of the classroom in to educational administration. Curious about what makes people tick, including my own tickings! I enjoy long walks, thought provoking books, theatre and leading a simple life. I offer a customised poetry writing service for any occasion you might like to mark. Contact me at rhymebydesign@hotmail.com for a quick quote.

Leave a Reply

