SHELTERED

Standard

 

 

 

 

A while ago I was asked to write a poem about parental alienation. The sad notes that came with the email stayed in my mind, so I have written this poem for JB in Canada. I hope it reflects something of what she wanted to say to her Mum and Dad.

 

SHELTERED

I listen and I listen,

I long to hear his voice,

To share my mixed up crazy thoughts –

And discover I’ve a choice.

 

Choice to be a daughter

Of two people side by side,

Trying to split my feelings

Just tears me up inside.

 

But Mom says:

‘We’re not at home this evening,

We’re not at home all week,

Just call again some other time,

And then perhaps we’ll speak.’

 

I’ve heard those words so often,

But for me it’s just the same,

My heart feels crushed like frozen ice –

It fears this lying game.

 

I’m always on the side-lines,

Watching children in the street,

Their Moms and Dads beside them,

While us? We hardly speak.

 

It was both of you together

That gave this gift of life,

But the wounds I feel inside me

Are stabbing like a knife.

 

I’m hoping, oh I’m hoping,

To become your child again,

To be tucked inside  familiar hearts

And freed from loss and pain.

 

COPYRIGHT

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About rhymebydesign

Mother, grandmother, mainstream poet and short story writer. Started off in life as a teacher, but then moved out of the classroom in to educational administration. Curious about what makes people tick, including my own tickings! I enjoy long walks, thought provoking books, theatre and leading a simple life. I offer a customised poetry writing service for any occasion you might like to mark. Contact me at rhymebydesign@hotmail.com for a quick quote.

Leave a Reply

