POETRY’S MAKING ME WORRY.

Standard

In this National Poetry week…..

 

THE MODERNS

 

Poetry’s making me worry,

There’s lots I just don’t understand.

Why can’t the ‘moderns’ just say what they mean

in phrases not ever so grand,

but clearly, as if the words that they like,

are the ones that I’ll care about too?

Or must we admire their jumbled refrains

and forget what is simple and true?

 

There, I’ve said it!

About rhymebydesign

Mother, grandmother, mainstream poet and short story writer. Started off in life as a teacher, but then moved out of the classroom in to educational administration. Curious about what makes people tick, including my own tickings! I enjoy long walks, thought provoking books, theatre and leading a simple life. I offer a customised poetry writing service for any occasion you might like to mark. Contact me at rhymebydesign@hotmail.com for a quick quote.

One response »

  1. I am so pleased you addressed this issue! I have been writing some poetry and sharing in my writing group. Often I feel out of my depth reading some of the acclaimed modern poetry. Thank you for confirming my own views in a humorous way!

Leave a comment